Hub.kiwi respects your privacy and only stores little information about you. If you are just an anonymous visitor, that information includes exclusively:
- An anonymized version of your ip address
- Your preferred language (may also include your home country, but does not include your physical location)
This information are relevant for 2 reasons, related to create usage statistics of our site. Firstly, your anonymized ip address is used to only count clicks created by that ip address once every 24 hours. Secondly, we and our customers will be able to see what language and home country the users of hub.kiwi have. Note that all of that data is anonymous and thus, can not be linked to a specific user and their behaviour. We also promise that no third party can access this data to create user profiles, collect user data or predict user behaviour.
As already stated, your location will not be stored. It's not even visible to hub.kiwi. While it technically
would be possible to guess your physical location by your ip address, hub.kiwi does not make use of such
Logged-in users may see the countries their hub-visitors come from. This could also include a language. But this information is not linked to you, your usage session or even your ip address. It is not visible for any other user of hub.kiwi. This means, while using hub.kiwi, you won't leave a digital trace that could lead anyone to your physical location. Even the information of your language and/or home country will stay the same, no matter where you actually happen to be in the real world. So you don't need to worry about being tracked, digitally or physically.
Google ReCaptcha(I'm not a robot)
Google ReCaptcha is a service we use to identify if a user of this website is actually a human. This is
important for us to prevent bots creating a lot of free hubs for example.
The service is provided by Google LLC and comes with some degree of user tracking and identification. This includes, but is not limited to, your IP, coarse location, browser data, device information, usage behaviour.
In order to run our service, we have to use sessions. Sessions are temporary files that include technically necessary information about your devices connection to our service. The information is randomly generated and is needed to authenticate logged in users, as well as validate request that supposedly were created by your devices.
To connect said random information to your device, we store 2 separate keys as cookies. One stores the session id. With that session we can communicate messages to your browser. The other cookie stores a token that verifies that you are you in the view of our servers. This prevents potential attackers to hack into your active session and cause harm like stealing or manipulating your data.
These cookies are not shared with third parties and do not contain any information that is is any way relevant to identify a person. They are not persisted on our end and can not be used to track you or collect data about your behaviour. If you don't want us to use these cookies, you can block them in your browser settings, but note that you won't be able to login if you do that.
If you register to hub.kiwi, note that we will store the information of your registration. These data will never be visible to any other party than hub.kiwi itself, and includes:
- Your name (can be a pseudonym)
- Your email address (not publicly visible)
- Your password hash (not your actual password)
- Date & time of your registration
Note that we won't store your actual password, but rather a password hash. This means, we store a randomized version of your password. Even in the case when our database was compromised, a potential attacker likely won't know what your actual password is, as long as your password is long and random enough.
Deleting your Data
If you are a registered user and want us to delete all of the stored about you, simply write us an email with
your request to the email address, shared on our imprint page.
We will delete your data within 2 weeks, and also close your account. Because we have to close your account then, we will ask you again, if you are sure about that decision.
If you are not a registered user, we can't delete any of your data, this is because we don't store enough information, to know whose information we would be deleting. That's how little data we store.
If you choose to pay for hub.kiwi's premium plan, you will have to use one of our payment providers that
handles the transaction. On checkout, you will be redirected to the payment site of the chosen payment
provider. When selecting a payment provider, we can not guarantee that they won't set any cookies on their
Currently our sole payment provider is PayPal Holdings Inc.
If you are a registered user that decided to use our premium plan, we have to store additional information about you. This information is limited to:
- Your real name (for billing)
- Your address (for billing)
The billing information you provide can not be deleted within the first ten years of storing these. Due to german law, we are forced to store billing/invoice information for ten years. After this period you can notify us to delete past invoices. Please note, if you notify us before the end of the ten years time span, we won't delete your invoice data. You have to notify us on the day, the time span expires or after that date.
GDPR controller & officer
Controller and officer for the purposes of the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), other data protection
laws applicable in Member states of the European Union and other provisions related to data protection is:
General time span of stored data
Unless you file a request to delete any of your data, any collected data might be stored indefinitely. Billing and invoice data, as stated in this document, have to be stored for 10 years and won't be deleted sooner.
Request your data
As a registered user, you can file a request to view the data we have stored about you. If you do so, we will reply to you within 8 weeks. Note that only unanonymized can be requested.
about any changes beforehand. Before the changes become active, you are allowed decline to the changes and
will need to provide the email address you used when registering.